Mix96 News

Election Result: Aylesbury

Aylesbury has its first new MP for 27 years.

Published by Chris Maskery at 4:22am 13th December 2019. (Updated at 10:14am 13th December 2019) 2-minute read.

Election Result: Aylesbury

Aylesbury has its first new MP for 27 years.

Conservative candidate Rob Butler was emphatically elected with around the same number of votes as outgoing MP Sir David Lidington.

The Tories easily held the seat winning 54% of the vote with 32,737 votes.

The Labour candidate Liz Hind was second with 33.3% of the vote and Lib Dem's Steve Lambert finished third with 10,081 votes.

The Green Parties Coral Simpson came last with 2,394 votes.

Our new MP has already started setting out his policies for the area, Including saying he will vote against HS2 more details below the voting charts.

Here's the announcement live from The Gateway:

Here's how those election stats look:

Aylesbury votes cast

Here's the difference in votes between this election and the last one in 2017:

Aylesbury vote change

Here's the share of the vote in percentage terms:

Aylesbury vote share

Former MP Sir David Lidington was elected in 1992, which means for many young people they've never known any other MP for this area.

AVDC tweeted the official 'Declaration of Result of Poll':

Talking to Mix96, Rob Butler has set out some pretty strong views on HS2.

He says he'll vote against the high speed rail project, even if the conservative whips try to force him to vote for it:

"If it comes to HS2, I'm very clear that I will vote in the interests of the constituents and if that means voting against the whip on HS2, that is what I shall do.

 "I've already had an undertaking from the Transport Secretary that he'll meet me with local residents and look at some ideas again because that is fundamentally the biggest single issue that people are concerned about."

Email Icon

Sign up for exclusive news, competitions and offers.
Proper Local News updates from Mix96