Dolly Parton: 9 to 5iTunesAmazon

Election Result: Buckingham

Election Result: Buckingham

Published by Chris Maskery at 5:13am 13th December 2019. (Updated at 10:14am 13th December 2019)

Buckingham has its first new MP for 22 years and the first MP representing a political party since 2009.

Greg Smith has been elected in the Buckingham constituency replacing Speaker of the House Jon Bercow.

He won 58.4% of the vote with 37,035 votes.

Second place was Lib Dem Stephen Dorrell with 16,624 votes with David Morgan second with 7,638 votes, 12% of the vote. 

Former MP Jon Bercow was elected in 1997 and was made Speaker in 2009, so this is the first time Buckingham has had a party political MP since then.

Here's how the vote looked:

Buckingham votes cast

Here's the share in the vote:

Buckingham vote share

AVDC tweeted a picture of the official documentation:

Conservative Councillor Warren White has shared a picture from the count of new MP Greg Smith doing interviews:

And you can hear Buckingham's new MP on Mix96 this morning. Listen Live here.


Email Icon

Sign up for exclusive news, competitions and offers.
Proper Local News updates from Mix96